2021 Teachers of the Year

Clear Creek ISD Announces 2021 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 05/14/2021
This is the image for the news article titled Clear Creek ISD Announces 2021 Teachers of the YearThe Rotary Clubs of Space Center, League City and Seabrook honored Clear Creek ISD’s 2021 Teacher of the Year nominees and finalists at an award breakfast on May 13. Lisa Prekosovich from Falcon Pass Elementary was named the Elementary Teacher of the Year and Andrea Newby from Bayside Intermediate was named the Secondary Teacher of the Year.

“We are here to shine the light on exemplary teachers—teachers who do so much more than just create excellent lesson plans that inspire students to learn and grow,” said Dr. Eric Williams during the event. “The teachers in this room and on Zoom change and shape lives.”

Prekosovich began working for CCISD in 1997. She served students at Ed White Elementary and North Pointe Elementary. Prekosovich also worked as an instructional coach before taking her position at Falcon Pass in 2012. As a second-grade teacher, Prekosovich incorporates character education into her classroom by encouraging intentional discussions with her students and building awareness of the needs of others.

“Lisa has a commitment to education that is like none other,” said Falcon Pass Principal Monica Giuffre. “As long as I’ve known her, she’s had a heart for kids that is unwavering, and I think that is something just to be valued and to be celebrated.”

Newby has only worked for CCISD for three short years but has already made a district-wide impact. Newby is an advocate for hands-on learning, allowing her students to experience the science from her lesson plans. After starting a marine science club on her campus, Newby submitted a proposal to the district to create an 8th grade marine science elective. The class was accepted and is now offered across CCISD’s intermediate schools.

“In her class, every child is part of a family. They have a place to belong, become, and grow. She helps each and every student navigate those highs and lows,” said Bayside Principal James Thomas.

Clear Creek ISD also recognizes the four finalists: Stacy Jackson from Armand Bayou Elementary, Carina Noble from Bay Elementary, James Turnage from Clear Falls High School and Summer Brauer from Clear Springs High School.

Each of the finalists received a $1,000 check from Space Center Rotary. The winners were given an additional $1,000 from Seabrook Rotary and League City Rotary.

Click here to view the gallery from the event.

Teacher of the Year Campus Nominees

Emily Russell – Bauerschlag Elementary
Teresa Teaster – Brookwood Elementary
Nicole Bankeris – Campbell Elementary
Ashley Gilmour – Clear Lake City Elementary
Lauren Nye – Ferguson Elementary
Elizabeth Gardner – Gilmore Elementary
Dawn Laird – Goforth Elementary
Joyleen Frey – Greene Elementary
Kim Goddard – Hall Elementary
Tiffany Ede – Hyde Elementary
Lorena Gracia – Landolt Elementary
Lynnette Pierel – League City Elementary
Richard Salazar – McWhirter Elementary
Serina Billups – Mossman Elementary
Lauren Sauer – North Pointe Elementary
Elizabeth Bartley – Parr Elementary
Virginia Carroll – Robinson Elementary
Crystal Baldwin – Ross Elementary
Susan Bowman – Stewart Elementary
Omega Chew – Ward Elementary
Heather McCool – Weber Elementary
Zoebel Westheimer – Wedgewood Elementary
Elizabeth Miranda – Whitcomb Elementary
Malissia De Leon – White Elementary

Daniel De La Pena – Brookside Intermediate
Norma Medina – Clear Creek Intermediate
Alice Lockette – Clear Lake Intermediate
Sarah Kloehn – Creekside Intermediate
Eric Alexander – League City Intermediate
Stacy Bode – Seabrook Intermediate
Paula Hebert – Space Center Intermediate
Katherine Pace – Victory Lakes Intermediate
Colonel Dennis Hudson – Westbrook Intermediate
Tim Thomas – Clear Brook High School
Harry So – Clear Creek High School
Andrea Zehentner – Clear Horizons ECHS
Ashley Kennedy-Lee – Clear Lake High School
Jeanni Meade – Clear Path High School
Kristi Foret – Clear View High School
©2018 CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT | Powered by: SchoolMessenger | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Login